Curriculum design begins with front-end analysis to determine what your students know and what they need to know. Course objectives are then drafted to fill this performance gap. Learning activities and assessments should be referenced to the objectives such that students are learning, practicing, and being assessed only on those skills specified by the objectives.

Instructional Design Models



Gagne’s 9 Events of Instruction

Gagne Example – Using the 9 events in the classroom

Kemp Model of Instructional Design

Criterion Referenced Instruction

Bloom’s Taxonomy

Bloom’s taxonomy refers to a classification of the different objectives that educators set for students (learning objectives). It divides educational objectives into three “domains”: cognitive, affective, and psychomotor (sometimes loosely described as “knowing/head”, “feeling/heart” and “doing/hands” respectively). Within the domains, learning at the higher levels is dependent on having attained prerequisite knowledge and skills at lower levels. A goal of Bloom’s taxonomy is to motivate educators to focus on all three domains, creating a more holistic form of education.

A Model of Learning Objectives

Writing Objectives Using Bloom’s Taxonomy

Take Action – Verbs that Define Bloom’s Taxonomy

Best Practices in Syllabus Writing:  Designing a Learner-Centered Syllabus

This article presents an overview of syllabus structure for faculty members and administrators who would like to develop and evaluate their syllabi. Your campus may have specific templates for a syllabus; many sections will align with this resource. A brief overview about syllabus contents and a checklist is provided:

Best Practices in Syllabus Writing